Organic Love: Antipodes Skincare

During my recent trip back to Vancouver, I discovered a new organic brand from Whole Foods that would help me with my eczema. I have struggled with perpetual eczema flare ups that would leave my face, neck and body with tight, dry and sensitive skin that would be flaky and leave my skin scarred with light brown scars that looked like a warpath all over my body.

I was at my wits end. I gotta admit, while La Mer does work for healing my eczema flare ups and I have sung praises for its entire line on my website, my bank account is still reeling from the damage I caused 😦

While I was waltzing down the aisle of Whole Foods in the skincare section aisle, I discovered a full line of organic skincare by a New Zealand  brand that does not use any artificial fragrances, parabens or preservatives. Since I was going makeup-free — well, foundation-free at least — to avoid irritating my skin any further, I was able to test drive the products right on my face. I mean, at the time my logic was that my skin was already in the midst of a flare-up, I might as well see if the products will ease the itchiness or if it will do nothing.

Pretty dangerous I understand, but again like I said, I was at my wits’ end.

Good thing I took that risk because I was sold right there and I procured a happy set of products right then and there when I realized that Antipodes products does not contain:

  • genetically modified (GM) or genetically engineered (GE) ingredients
  • synthetic fillers or silicon derived ingredients
  • artificial colours or artificial fragrances
  • sodium lauryl sulfates
  • mineral oils
  • petrochemicals
  • animal ingredients (except honey and beeswax from living bees)
  • parabens; ethyl-, methyl-, propyl-, butyl-.

Without much further ado, here’s what I took home with me that day from Whole Foods:

Joyous Protein-Rich Night Replenish Serumimg_1651
Volume: 30ml
Price: CAD53.99

Housed in a dark glass dropper bottle, this light oil-serum is amazing in its texture for dry-sensitive skin that just needs a little more lovin’ ❤ Although most people use a couple drops for their face, I actually use a full pump for my face, neck and décolletage as I feel that proper skincare should be beyond just taking care of my face and so I like to extend the hydration and any anti-aging benefits beyond it. I love how light and hydrating the serum was without feeling like it would clog my pores; for someone who has dry, tight and sensitive skin, this was a godsend as it delivered a burst of hydration and moisturization without aggravating my eczema patches on my face and neck. I wish this would come in a bigger bottle since I use it for more than my face and  I definitely  would repurchase this in a heartbeat ❤  In fact, after I took a look at the ingredients from the Antipodes website itself, it just made me love the product even more:

  • Blackcurrant fruit oil: Rich in antioxidants, Vitamin C, Vitamin E and GLA
  • Goji Fruit extract: Rich in amino acids, needed to build protein and repair skin
  • Raspberry Seed oil: Rich in essential fatty acids, Omega 3 and 6, nourishing
  • Hibiscus flower: nature’s skin brightener and gentle exfoliator

As noted on the bottle, this serum is meant to be used in the evening because of its main effect to heal dry and damaged skin, and it’s scientifically proven to stimulate elastin production in human fibroblast skin cells, which means it helps regenerate skin cells that were previously damaged.

Hosanna H20 Intensive Skin-Plumping Serumimg_1655
Volume: 30ml
Price: CAD69.99

Another serum that I picked up was this intensive hydration serum that I used during the day; housed in a brown glass dropper bottle, I used a full pump of this product on my clean skin after using a toner and Treatment Lotion, and I topped it off with the Rejoice Light Facial Day Cream. In terms of its texture, I liked how it absorbed quickly into my skin without leaving a sticky, tacky feeling to it; however, based on my skin’s needs, I feel like I would use this serum during the spring/summer months as it felt like it was just another layer on my skin when it was dry and sensitive during the winter. I didn’t feel like it made my skin feel extra hydrated, but it didn’t hurt at all to have it on my face during the day either; it just didn’t have that WOW factor for me during this particular period of time. In addition,  there is quite a distinctive herby scent to it that wasn’t especially pleasant but it wasn’t off-putting either.

I took a look at the ingredients from the Antipodes website itself just to be clear about what I’m putting onto my skin:

  • Lavendula Angustfolia (Lavender) Distillate**
  • Cyathea Medullaris (Mamaku Black Fern) Leaf Extract
  • Vitis Vinifera (Vinanza Grape Grapeseed) Extract
  • Naticide (Natural Preservative)
  • Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride
  • Xanthan Gum
  • Essential Oil Fragrances Of French Rose Oil And Cardamon: Benzyl Benzoate*, Cinnamyl Alcohol*, Citral*, Citronellol*, D-Limonene*, Eugenol*, Farnesol*, Geraniol*, Linalool*

(*Component of Essential Oil; **Certified Organic Ingredient)

All in all, I would repurchase this product to use for the spring/summer months ❤

Rejoice Light Facial Day Creamimg_1658
Volume: 60ml
Price: CAD52.99

Housed in an aluminum squeeze tube, this day cream is quite hydrating and moisturizing for my skin when I use it to finish off my skincare routine. Given that this cream is packed with manuka, avocado, macadamia and jojoba, this product really helps with moisturising and healing the skin. Although described as being light and non-oily, this moisturizer looks and feels like a thick cream but it went on light and it was absorbed quickly; personally I quite like how thick it feels to the touch because I have dry skin but at the same time, it didn’t leave my skin greasy to the touch. The only aspect that irks me is how sweet this cream is from the almond and vanilla in the ingredients; I’m not one to shy away from dessert at all but I wasn’t too keen on sweet-smelling skincare. Despite the scent, I quite like to have this as the alternative to my other holy grail, the La Mer Moisturizing Cream.

I’d also like to note how I like how travel-friendly these products are as they are in cute dropper bottles for the serums and a squeeze tube for the cream.

Talk to me <3

